Confederación Sudamericana de Bridge
The Confederacion Sudamericana de Bridge was founded in 1948 to administer bridge in the South American countries. In Spanish. This website contains all the pertinent information for all bridge players in South American countries.

Facebook - The Bridge Association of Argentina also maintains an account with Facebook.

Acociasción del Bridge Argentino - Bridge Association Argentina
he official website of the Bridge Association of Argentina. Only in the language of the country.

History of Bridge in the Country of Argentina - El Bridge en la Argentina - Only in the language of the country.

Short Summary: Apparently there were tournaments for rubber bridge only in the very beginning. The first known local tournament was played in the year 1928. Sir Hillary Lang donated a cup bearing his name to the winner of the interclubs winner of the conducted tournament. The participants consisted only of member of the Foreign Residents Club, Club Danish, and English. Other participants were added later as eligible players including Creoles (Criollos), who were a social class in the caste system of the overseas colonies. In the year 1932 the tournament was won by the Buenos Aires Lawn Tennis Club. It was also in this year 1932 that the bridge players in Argentina adopted the Laws of Duplicate Contract Bridge and conducted tournaments with these Laws. These Laws of Duplicate Contract Bridge were than adopted by the local bridge clubs and/or settings, in which bridge events were conducted.

Acociasción Bridge Argentino - Bridge Association Argentina
Information of the WBF website. The Confederacion Sudamericana de Bridge was founded in 1948 to administer bridge in the South American countries.

Recoleta Club De Bridge
The first Latin American Bridge Home Page in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Short History of Argentina

Europeans arrived in the region with the 1502 voyage of Amerigo Vespucci. Spanish navigator Juan Diaz de Solias visited what is now Argentina in 1516. Spain established a permanent colony on the site of Buenos Aires in 1580, although initial settlement was primarily overland from Peru. The Spanish further integrated Argentina into their empire by establishing the Vice Royalty of Rio de la Plata in 1776, and Buenos Aires became a flourishing port. Buenos Aires formally declared independence from Spain on July 9, 1816. Argentines revere Gen. Jose de San Martin, who campaigned in Argentina, Chile, and Peru as the hero of their national independence. Following the defeat of the Spanish, centralist and federationist groups waged a lengthy conflict between themselves to determine the future of the nation. National unity was established, and the constitution promulgated in 1853. Two forces combined to create the modern Argentine nation in the late 19th century: the introduction of modern agricultural techniques and integration of Argentina into the world economy. Foreign investment and immigration from Europe aided this economic revolution. Investment, primarily British, came in such fields as railroads and ports. As in the United States, the migrants who worked to develop Argentina's resources--especially the western pampas--came from throughout Europe.

From 1880 to 1930 Argentina became one of the world's 10 wealthiest nations based on rapid expansion of agriculture and foreign investment in infrastructure. Conservative forces dominated Argentine politics until 1916, when their traditional rivals, the Radicals, won control of the government. The Radicals, with their emphasis on fair elections and democratic institutions, opened their doors to Argentina's rapidly expanding middle class as well as to groups previously excluded from power. The Argentine military forced aged Radical President Hipolito Yrigoyen from power in 1930 and ushered in another decade of Conservative rule. Using fraud and force when necessary, the governments of the 1930s attempted to contain the currents of economic and political change that eventually led to the ascendance of Juan Domingo Peron (b. 1897). New social and political forces were seeking political power, including a modern military and labor movements that emerged from the growing urban working class.

The military ousted Argentina's constitutional government in 1943. Peron, then an army colonel, was one of the coup's leaders, and he soon became the government's dominant figure as Minister of Labor. Elections carried him to the presidency in 1946. He aggressively pursued policies aimed empowering the working class and greatly expanded the number of unionized workers.

On March 11, 1973, Argentina held general elections for the first time in 10 years. Peron was prevented from running, but voters elected his stand-in, Dr. Hector Campora, as President. Peron's followers also commanded strong majorities in both houses of Congress. Campora resigned in July 1973, paving the way for new elections. Peron won a decisive victory and returned as President in October 1973 with his third wife, Maria Estela Isabel Martinez de Peron, as Vice President.

Peron died on July 1, 1974. His wife succeeded him in office, but a military coup removed her from office on March 24, 1976, and the armed forces formally exercised power through a junta composed of the three service commanders until December 10, 1983.

In the first round of the Presidential election on April 27, 2003, former President Carlos Menem (PJ) won 24.3% of the vote, Santa Cruz Governor Nestor Kirchner (PJ) won 22%, followed by Ricardo Murphy with 16.4% and Eilsa Carrio with 14.2%. Menem withdrew from the May 25 runoff election after polls showed overwhelming support for Kirchner. President Kirchner took office on May 25, 2003.

There is, of course, much more history of the country of Argentina than presented here. The country is not only political, but also sea, mountains, forests, wilderness, and beauty. The interested student should research the wonders and marvels of this wonderful country.

Categorías - Rankings

In the country of Argentina the ranking is as follows in the language of Argentina.

Categorías - Rankings   Definition
Maestro Nacional (MN):   1600 Puntos libres (PL) + 5 Campeonatos Nacionales Libres ó 2 Campeonatos Sudamericano Libres.
Maestro Nacional de Damas (MD):   1600 Puntos Damas (PD)+ 5 Campeonatos Nacionales Damas ó 2 Campeonatos Sudamericano.
Maestro:   1600 Puntos.
Superior:   800 Puntos.
Primera:   400 Puntos.
Segunda Pique:   200 Puntos.
Segunda Corazón:   100 Puntos.
Segunda Diamante:   50 Puntos.
Tercera:   25 Puntos.
Cuarta:   00 Puntos.


email convention
Email Conventions Bridge Sites
home back home
Home Page I International Home Page II