Mr. Albert Hodges Morehead was born August 7, 1909, and died October 5, 1966, and was of New York, New York, United States. He was born in the city of Flintsone, Taylor County, Georgia, United States. As a leading American bridge personality he was a bridge author, a bridge writer and contributor of many bridge articles for periodicals, newspapers, and many bridge-related magazines. He was also the Technical Editor of The Bridge World magazine in the year 1932 and Editor in the year 1934, at which time he was only twenty-five years old.

Biographical Information

In the year 1929 Mr. Albert Hodges Morehead was selected by Mr. Ely Culbertson to become the General Manager of all of the publications of Mr. Ely Culbertson. He was elected to the ACBL Hall of Fame in the year 1996 and he was selected as an ACBL Honorary Member of the Year in 1946. Of special note is the fact that he was also a regular bridge partner of General Dwight David Eisenhauer, who was the 34th President of the United States between January 20, 1953 and January 20, 1961.

Several of his authored publications include Bridge the Expert Way, Contract Bridge Summary, Morehead on Bidding, which earned him the award of The International Bridge Press Book of the Year in the year 1966.


Mr. Albert Hodges Morehead, after proving his qualities as an experienced bridge author, bridge writer, and managerial expertise the main newspaper of New York, The New York Times, selected Mr. Albert Hodges Morehead to become the first Bridge Editor for the newspaper. He held this position from the year 1938 to the year 1963, three years before his death caused by cancer.

The New York Times donated the Morehead Trophy in memory of the newspaper's long-time Bridge Editor. The Morehead Trophy was originally awarded to the winners of a special knockout team event, which followed the Reisinger team contest at the Fall Nationals. However, owing to a lack of popularity with the bridge community the event was withdrawn from competition. The tournament for the Morehead Trophy was contested only once in the year 1967. Source is OEofB 1971, p. 287.

Note: This trophy is not to be confused with The New York Times Morehead Trophy, which began in the year 1973. The Grand National Teams (GNT) national bridge championship is held at the summer American Contract Bridge League (ACBL) North American Bridge Championship (NABC). The Grand National Teams is a team knockout event. The event is broken into 4 flights (Championship, A, B, C). The event is restricted to those who have qualified in their local ACBL district .The winners in each event have their names engraved on the Morehead Trophy, donated by The New York Times in memory of its longtime bridge editor Albert Morehead.

The Contestants

Winners   Runners-Up
Daniel Rotman   Paul Deal
Charles Peres   Noel Duvic
Steve Altman   Frank Hoadley
Michael Becker   Gerald Kendal
    Paul Munafo

Special Notation

The attempt is made to ensure that these pioneering bridge players are not forgotten. They were the enthusiastic bridge players, who enlivened the game, invigorated the spirit of the game, and stimulated others to become interested in the game, to arouse their curiosity, and to promote their participation. The very definition of the word pioneer is easily attributed to them since they ventured into the unknown, expanded the scope of the game itself, set the standard, and trail-blazed so that others would have a path to follow.


Email Conventions Bridge Sites
Home Page I Winners Home Page II